The Final Countdown

It’s all happening! In just a few days I’ll be running the New York City marathon. Even that blustery witch Sandy couldn’t derail the race.

First, a huge thank you to everyone who donated. Because of your generosity, Camfed will be able to help more even more girls get an education in Africa. (To those of you who donated on cookie day, I’ll be in touch soon to find out if you have any food allergies or special requests).  You guys rock!

Now comes the hard part — running 26.2 miles. Some of you may want to come watch the race just to be sure I’m fulfilling my end of the bargain. Please do! I would love to see you.

Where will you be? There’s a map of the course here. I’m in the last wave, which means I start at 10:55 am. I plan to run between 11- and 12- minute miles. If you’re waiting on 4th Avenue, I’ll be on the left hand side. To have an even better shot at spotting me, you can track me by my bib number. You can receive text message updates for a small fee or you can track me on the marathon web site for free. Go here for more info. My bib number is 61179. You’ll need that number to track me.

What will you be wearing? A gray t-shirt with my name on it, colorful leopard print arm warmers, a white hat, and black pants. Because that’s how I roll.

Can I track your progress even if I don’t attend the race? Sure! Go to the marathon web site. There should be a spot where you can enter my bib number 61179. You’ll need that number to track me.

I’m understandably nervous, but so is everyone else. Soren had an anxiety dream in which he forgot to make signs to cheer me on. He was frantically trying to find an art supplies store the morning of the race. My mom is nervous about flying into LaGuardia. And I’m worried about the controversy.

Many New Yorkers think the city should be focused on recovery and not hosting a race that traverses all five boroughs, parts of which are still without power. Will we get booed? Will people protest? I was nervous about my ability to finish with a supportive crowd. Running 26.2 miles while being heckled and harassed seems like it will be impossible.

While I understand the backlash, the marathon is happening. And I’ve worked too hard to drop out. As you may remember, training hasn’t exactly been easy. In fact, some weeks have been downright miserable.

So I will race. But first I’ll make a donation to the Red Cross to help my neighbors in New Jersey, Staten Island, Rockaway, and Coney Island. See you at the finish line.

Leave a Reply

