Training Begins

Actually training has already begun. After much hemming and hawing, I decided to follow Hal Higdon’s 18-week marathon plan. Because Hal isn’t trying to be hip. That gray-haired old man is just focused on getting you across the finish line. I bought Hal’s training app, so now occasionally as I run, I’ll hear Hal’s reedy voice say something like, “I run to see what’s out there in the world!” Usually this happens during some hardcore rap song. Tricks be gettin’ whooped, and then there’s nerdy Hal assuring me, “Don’t worry. Your endurance will improve.” Thanks, Hal. I needed that.

The indomitable Hal Higdon.

You know what sucks about training for a marathon? The running. I feel like I’m running all the time. And that wouldn’t be so terrible except it’s summer in New York. Which means it’s 90 plus degrees and humid pretty much every single day. The idea of running makes me want to vomit. Hot running is a completely different beast from cool running. Your shoes feel like they’re filled with cement. The sweat pools in your sports bra. Your fingers puff like marshmallows. Your brain swells. Seriously. My last long hot run turned me into a bobblehead. By the end, it was all I could do to hold my gargantuan noggin upright.

My strategy to beat the heat is to run early. But it’s a toss up whether it sucks more to get up at 6am on a Saturday or to run when it’s 90 degrees. And sometimes you get up early to find that it’s already stifling — the worst of both worlds. Lucky for me I have Hal to cheer me on. “Only 500 more yards to go. You’re doing great!” Thanks, Hal.

If only Hal could help me fundraise. You may remember that to gain entry into the New York City marathon, I’ve agreed to raise $3,300 for Camfed, an organization that helps girls in Africa pay for their education.

Please consider making a donation to help me, but mostly to help people like Katumi. Hearing her story makes me think I should stop whining and start running. Heat be damned! You hear that Hal? I’m done complaining . . . for now, at least.

One response to “Training Begins

  1. Wow, what a powerful video. I’m so proud of you and happy to contribute :o)

Leave a Reply

